Picture
             Again, for the millionth time, someone said to me that it's really sad that I still don't have clue what I'm going to be when I grow up. Honestly, I can't see my future at all- or should I say I won't even have one. I'm really lost. My mother, my father, my aunt, my cousin and my friends have asked me the same question, "What do you want to do when you grow up?" countless times. And yet, every time I would give them a blank stare and utter the words "I don't know." Apparently, I am prohibited from saying "I don't know" because I use it too often to answer questions asked by my parents. I think their joking though. 

              Well, I'm fifth-teen right now and I guess I still have time to ponder about this...But some people are already planning their career ahead of time! Some of my friends and classmates have decided what courses they're going to take in grade twelve, even though they are going into grade eleven next year. On the contrary, I still don't know what career path I'm going to follow so I chose all the hard courses for grade eleven such as university biology, chemistry and physics, hoping that I will show some interest in one of those subject areas. 

              Others have asked me have I decided what university to go to. I don't know what I'm going to study in the future and now you're asking what university to go to....Also, I have little knowledge of what universities or colleges that exist. If I were to have a post-secondary education, I would probably choose a college/university that is close to my home due to the fact that living in the dorms seems kind of "isolated". The one university that keeps coming up is Harbour. From what I heard, Harbour is the best university in the world. People think I should go there because of my marks, but in my opinion, marks don't matter that much! I think that being interested in that area you want to study matters most! I may be wrong, so you can disagree with me. 

               One thing that bothers me is that my younger sister says she wants to become an artist and my cousin wants to become a doctor. Yes, they have a goal now but will it stay consistent? For the next 5 or 10 years, will they still stick to what they want to become? Or give up on that career choice and choose something else? Another thing that bothers me is some people will be in college/university studying medical or whatever, then they will drop out and study another course, then they drop out again. I feel like I'm getting off topic... Anyways, my advice: Decide what you are going to study in your post-secondary education so you're not wasting time and money! If you find yourself not interested in studying, immediately leave and choose a different path. I really need to start thinking about this...

4/25/2013 11:34:00 pm

I know what you mean, I still have no clue what to be when I'm out of high school, and I hear others around me talking about it non-stop about what school there going to and the job they want, where they wanna go, and I'm clueless. But as you mentioned, we do still have some time to think about it. I try to search up job descriptions and things like that to help broaden my availability of what I CAN do, and am hoping something will stick out. I am hoping to go to McMasters, because I want to aim for the best that I can, and you should too. Marks do matter, that's what schools look at for acceptance. Keep it up, and I'm sure you'll find your passion.

Reply



Leave a Reply.